## Association of Carolina Shag Clubs Icon Selection Committee

Novelene Powell, Icon Committee Co-Chair Dot Smith, Icon Committee Co-Chair

## January 16, 2021

Before we announce the new Icons, I'll tell you a bit about how Icons are selected. Each year the Association may select up to 5 shaggers who meet the established criteria for the prestigious Icon Award. From a list of Icons who volunteer to serve on the selection team, nine names are drawn to serve as evaluators. After carefully studying the application forms and without consulting with other evaluators, they score each applicant on his/her own merits – Not in comparison with other applicants. These scores are submitted to the Icon Committee Co-Chairs – Novelene Powell and Dot Smith – who tally the final results.

If your club's nominee is not one of those selected, you may "tweak" or revise your materials to resubmit the person's name before the November 1<sup>st</sup> deadline.

This year we are please to announce in alphabetical order, the 2021 Icons.

Dianne Dyches, Islanders Shag Club Margaret Griffin, Raleigh Shag Club Patricia Robinson, Columbia Shag Club

Our sincere congratulations from the ACSC/SOS Board and the ICON Committee to the new inductees and **Welcome** to the Icon Family!

## Association of Carolina Shag Clubs Icon Selection Committee

Novelene Powell, Icon Committee Co-Chair

Dot Smith, Icon Committee Co-Chair

## 2021 Icon Recipients

Islanders Shag Club, Charleston, SC DIANNE DYCHES





Columbia Shag Club PATRICIA "PAT" ROBINSON

